After each class my mind is really about what kind of teacher I wish to be. I find connections between what we are doing in class and what students say and do. I already commented about this in class, but I thought it was worth saying again. Students are more insightful and aware of their writing than teachers give them credit for. Trea, a current 6th grade student, gets into a lot of trouble. One way he is able to express himself is through his lyrics. However, when I would see his notebook in class, I would tell him to put it away. I once even confiscated it. 
Looking back at what I did, I am ashamed I did not handle this differently. Trea needs an outlet to express himself. He confided to me he feels constrained in English and Art, the two classes he expects he can express himself. Trea wants to communicate his ideas, feelings, and experiences so badly he wants to start an afterschool club. Isn't that the red flag to us all? Do students have to save their creativity  



Leave a Reply.